Current officers


Sophie Warny, CENEX Director, AASP Chair, Professor of Palynology & Curator, Louisiana State University, USA (Board member 2023-2025)

  • PhD 1999, Université Catholique de Louvain, Belgium
  • Mesozoic to Recent palynology, stratigraphy, energy & melissopalynology
  • Main work: palynostratigraphy, paleoclimatology &  paleoecology from Antarctica, Africa, North America, and Europe





Past President 
President of AASP - The Palynological Society

Niall W. Paterson, CASP, Cambridge, UK (2023–2024)

  • PhD 2009, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland
  • Geological period: Permian and Triassic palynology and stratigraphy
  • Main work: palynostratigraphy with an emphasis on the circum-Arctic and Northwestern Europe; mass extinction events; CO2 storage and energy transition research






Stephen Stukins
, Senior Curator of Micropalaeontology, Natural History Museum, London, UK (Board Member 2021-2024)

  • Ph.D. 2011, University of Aberdeen, UK
  • Mesozoic palynology and palaeoecology; emphasis on event stratigraphy
  • Main work: Mesozoic micropaleontology and collection-based research






Vladimir Torres Torres, Bio|Stratigrapher, ExxonMobil Upstream, Houston, USA (Board Member 2021–2024)

  • Ph.D. 2006, University of Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Cretaceous–Cenozoic palynology/ paleoecology; emphasis on tropical vegetation & Cretaceous dinos; sequence stratigraphy, processing techniques
  • Main work: improving stratigraphic frameworks and interpreting depositional environments of clastic rocks in South America




Alex Wheeler, Post-doc, Leibniz University Hannover, Germany

  • Ph.D. 2021, The University of Queensland, Australia
  • Palaeozoic palynology; emphasis on coal as a climate archive; multiproxy stratigraphy in terrestrial environments
  • Main work: Palaeoenvironmental controls on vegetation dynamics in Australia during the end-Permian mass extinction





Martha Gibson, Lindemann Trust Visiting Scholar, West Virginia University, USA (Board Member 2022–2024)

  • Ph.D. 2021, University of Sheffield, UK
  • Paleozoic palynology; evaporite palynology & extraterrestrial applications; Permian–Triassic Mass Extinction vegetation dynamics
      • Main work: evaporite palynology of Permian midcontinent USA evaporites;  probability-based terrestrial reconstructions of Cenozoic paleoclimates
Student Director-at-Large

Opeyemi Taiwo
, PhD Student, University of Aberdeen, UK (Board Member 2022–2024)

  • M.Sc. 2016, Federal University of Technology, Minna, Niger State, Nigeria
  • Cenezoic palynology, Paleoclimatology
  • Main work: palynostratigraphy and paleoclimatology of the Cenezoic Kenyan rift basins

Managing Editor of Palynology

James Riding, Emeritus, British Geological Survey, Nottingham UK

  • Ph.D. 1986, University of Sheffield, UK
  • Mesozoic & Cenozoic palynology with emphasis on the Jurassic, Cretaceous & Miocene; dinoflagellates and their cysts; forensic palynology; history of palynology; plankton evolution; preparation techniques; provincialism
  • Main work: palynology of the Jurassic & Cretaceous of the world

Ex-officio members
Webmaster & Website Content

Fabienne Marret, University of Liverpool, UK
Julia Gravendyck, University of Bonn, Germany

Newsletter Editor

Jan Hennissen, British Geological Survey, Keyworth, UK

GSA Liaison

Martin B. Farley, The University of North Carolina at Pembroke, USA

IFPS Councillor

Fabienne Marret, University of Liverpool, UK

Standing committees (2023-2024)
Awards Committee

Marie Thomas, Hess Corporation, Houston, USA (Chair)
Annette E. Götz, Landesamt für Bergbau, Energie und Geologie, Hannover, Germany
Jan Hennissen, British Geological Survey, Keyworth, UK

Nominating Committee

Francisca Oboh Ikuenobe, Missouri University of Science & Technology, USA (Chair)
Julia Gravendyck
, University of Bonn, Germany
Opeyemi Taiwo, University of Aberdeen, UK

Ballot Committee

Martha Gibson, West Virginia University, USA (Chair)
Vera Korasidis,
Smithsonian Institution, Washington, USA
Jan Hennissen, British Geological Survey, Keyworth, UK